What is the goat man?

According to urban legend, the Goatman is an axe-wielding half-animal, half-man creature that was once a scientist who worked in the Beltsville Agricultural Research Center. The tale is that he was experimenting on goats until one experiment backfired, and he was mutated, becoming goat-like himself.