Who is picoult's bill?

Pecos Bill is a fictional cowboy. in stories Pecos used a rattlesnake named Shake as a lasso. His horse, Widow-Maker was so named because no other man could ride him and live. Dynamite was said to be his favorite food. On one of his adventures, Pecos Bill managed to lasso a twister.