How many legendary pokemon are there?

There are 49 Legendary Pokemon

---

Starting with just the 5 Legendary Pokémon in Generation 1, as of Generation VII there are 81 different Legendary Pokémon. Legendary Pokémon are typically rare and hard to get, usually being restricted to one or two of each species in each game they're available in.