What are hiccups from?

It is caused by an irregular amount of oxygen in the lungs. The best way to get over hiccups is to take a deep breath and breath regularly.

---

Some causes of hiccups include eating too quickly and swallowing air along with foods. Eating or drinking too much can distend the stomach and cause irritation of the diaphragm, which can cause hiccups.