What's the difference between waterproof and water resistant?

The technical definition of water resistant is that it's able to resist the penetration of water to a certain degree, but not entirely. Waterproof technically means that it's impermeable to water, no matter how much time it spends in water

---

Something is said to be waterproof if it is technically impermeable to water, no matter how much time it spends in water. On the other hand, something is said to be water resistant if it is able to resist the penetration of water to a certain degree.