What's the difference between a jaguar and a panther?

“Panther” is just the common name of the genus, thus describing any big cat species, be it a leopard, cougar, tiger or even jaguar! So the jaguar is actually a panther!

---

The panther is not actually a species. Panther is just the common name of the genus, thus describing any large feline species, be it a leopard, cougar, tiger, or even jaguar. So the jaguar is actually a panther.