What is the arora borealis?

Also known as Northern Lights, the Aurora Borealis is a seasonal light show caused by ions, charged particles emitted by the sun interacting with Earth’s ionosphere and magnetic field. The result is like a dynamic neon glow in the sky of the polar North. The South Pole version is Aurora Australis.

---

That's the northern lights. A spectacular light show in northern latitudes caused by disturbances in the magnetosphere from the solar wind