What was the biggest fish to ever live?

The extinct fish Leedsichthys problematicus—thought to be the largest that ever lived—lived about 165 million years ago in Europe and South America. It grew to at least 16.5 meters in length and might have weighed 45 metric tons, which means it was larger even than today's whale shark.