What is the difference between a cardinal and a bishop?

In the Roman Catholic church, a Cardinal is a Bishop who has been named to the College of Cardinals, which is a group of close advisors to the Pope. In addition to their administrative duties, they are also tasked with electing a new pope when the previous one dies or resigns.