What does a does mean?

"Does" can define an action: "What "does" blank do?" It can also be a verb (the action itself): "This is what blank "does". For instance: "What "does" a car (blank) do?" or "This is what a car (blank) "does"". In this case the answer is the same: it carries/carried people from Point A to Point B.