What's a hot compost pile?

Compost heats up as it breaks down, a hot pile is produced as a by-product of the microbial breakdown of organic material. The heat production depends on the size of the pile, its moisture content, aeration, and C/N ratio. Additionally, ambient temperature affects compost temperatures.