How do you know when a pumpkin is ready to harvest?

Pumpkins ready for harvest should be fully colored and the rind should also be very firm. If a fingernail easily pierces or indents the skin, the pumpkin isn’t ready. If it is fully colored, and you’ve tested the rind with your fingernail to make sure it is firm, then the pumpkin is ready.