Why do you peel carrots?

It is safe to eat carrots without peeling if they are properly washed. It is primarily a taste issue. Carrots taste more earthy or bitter with the skin on.

---

When carrots are treated with pesticides as they grow, the peel holds the majority of the chemical. Organic produce isn't sprayed with pesticides, which means you can safely eat the entire carrot to maximize its nutritional value.