When were dinosaurs discovered?

In 1677, Robert Plot discovered a large bone he believed belonged to a giant human. The bone probably belonged to a Megalosaurus which was first named by William Buckland in 1824.

---

In 1676, Robert Plot discovered a large thigh bone later believed to have been from a Megalosaurus. Large fossilized teeth found in 1822 were later classified by British scientist Richard Owen as distinctly different from any living creature, and it was he who coined the term “Dinosauria” in 1841.