Why do the washington nationals have a shark?

In 2019, Ballplayer Gerardo Parra chose 'Baby Shark' as the song played as he approached the batters box because it was a favorite of his 2-year-old daughter, Aaliyah. The nationals fans adopted that song to represent not only Parra, but the fun and excitement of the 2019 season and world series.