Who is general philip schuyler?

Philip Schuyler was an American general in the Revolutionary War. After the war he was a United States Senator from New York

---

One of America's most influential early citizens and Alexander Hamilton's father-in-law, Schuyler was defeated in one of the earliest clashes between Hamilton and Aaron Burr — the 1791 battle for one of New York's seats in the U.S. Senate. Schuyler was born into a prominent New York family in 1733.