What's spot silver?

Silver is a widely traded commodity, and spot silver refers to silver purchased at spot rates. The spot silver amount typically refers to the cost for 1 troy ounce of . 999 fine silver and can be purchased in different forms, with coins, bars and bullion being some of the most popular modes.