What makes people snore?

Snoring is obstructed breathing, which can be caused by poor muscle tone, bulky throat tissue, or a long soft palate or uvula. It may indicate that you have a treatable health condition that is interfering with breathing while you sleep, such as nasal congestion, nasal polyps or a deviated septum.