What's a hatch pepper?

Hatch (chile) pepper refers to specific pepper varieties which are grown in the Hatch Valley, an area along the Rio Grande from Arrey, New Mexico in the north to Tonuco Mountain southeast of Hatch New Mexico. The soil and growing conditions in the Hatch Valley contribute to the unique flavor.