How much is one pound in cups?

One pound of granulated sugar is 2 and 1 quarter cups. One pound of coffee grounds, is 5 cups, because it is fluffier.

---

The answer is dependent on what is being measured. For instance, one lb of all-purpose flour is equivalent to approximately 3 & 2/3 cups. However, 1 lb of water equals 1 & 3/4 cups. This is because cups are a measure of volume, but pounds are a measure of weight.