What animal is arthur from the show arthur?

Arthur is an aardvark.

---

Although Arthur is set in the United States, Arthur himself is not an animal native to the continent. Arthur is not a bear, a mouse, a rabbit, or some other common animal. Instead, Arthur is an aardvark.