Why is it called a semi truck?

According to truckingcrossing.com, Semi is actually short for "semi-trailer" truck. A semi is a trailer box with a rear axle but without a front axle. The reason for this configuration is that a large portion of the load is carried by the tractor and not on the hitch of the trailer attachment.