What's the difference between corn starch and corn meal?

Cornstarch is refined from corn, and is a nearly flavorless, fine powder, best used as a thickener for sauces and gravies. Corn meal is ground corn that can be used to make bread, muffins, and scones. Some people will tell you that you can substitute one for the other, but don't you believe it.