What kind of plane is the mig in top gun?

The on-screen “MiGs” in Top Gun were actually Northrop F-5E/F Tiger II fighters from the Navy's aggressor squadrons.

---

In the original Top Gun movie, the MiG-28 is a fighter jet flown by unknown assailants. According to Wikipedia, the MiG-28 is a fictional aircraft flown by the antagonists in the 1986 film Top Gun. See Wikipedia's list of fictional aircraft for original listing.