Where did the song hallelujah come from?

“Hallelujah” was first released in 1984 in Leonard Cohen's album, Various Positions. From there only, it actually originated. According to Hebrew Bible, Hallelujah is composed of two words hallelu, meaning "to praise joyously," and yah, a shortened form of the unspoken name of God.