What is the history of bubble gum?

Bubblegum was first invented in Philadelphia, PA in 1928. It was invented because in Philadelphia at Fleer Chewing Gum Company, Walter E. DIEMER was playing around with new gum recipes and created a formula that was less sticky and stretched more.