Is puerto rico united states?

The island of Puerto Rico is a U.S. territory located where the Atlantic Ocean and Caribbean Sea meet. Translated, its name means “Rich Port” as coined during Columbus’ first voyages to the new world. It was officially ceded to the U.S. from Spain, via the Treaty of Paris in 1898.