What happened to the planet pluto?

As astronomers got better looks of Pluto (and its moons), they found it much smaller than first thought and more like a group of icy planetoids further out in the solar system. Much like early asteroids that were first misidentified as planets, Pluto was reclassified as the first Plutoid.