What happened to the planet pluto?

As astronomers got better looks of Pluto (and its moons), they found it much smaller than first thought and more like a group of icy planetoids further out in the solar system. Much like early asteroids that were first misidentified as planets, Pluto was reclassified as the first Plutoid.

---

Pluto is no longer a planet, it was changed to a dwarf planet in 2006.

---

Pluto is no longer a planet. The 2006 definition of planet defined Pluto not as planet, but as dwarf planet, because it have not cleared its neighbourhood. Pluto (unlike all other planets in our Solar system) does not orbit the Sun alone, but as part of a population of similarly sized objects.