Who sang the original cotton eye joe?

Like many traditional folk songs, the first person to write and play “Cotton Eye Joe” is a mystery. The song pre-dates the Civil War and was likely written between 1800 and 1860. “Cotton Eye Joe” circulated through the southern states, especially amongst slaves, as a song to sing and dance along to.