When did the bubonic plague start?

The Black Death was a devastating global epidemic of bubonic plague that struck Europe and Asia in the mid-1300s. The Bubonic plague arrived in Europe in October 1347, when 12 ships from the Black Sea docked at the Sicilian port of Messina.