When did the bubonic plague start?

The Black Death was a devastating global epidemic of bubonic plague that struck Europe and Asia in the mid-1300s. The Bubonic plague arrived in Europe in October 1347, when 12 ships from the Black Sea docked at the Sicilian port of Messina.

---

The Bubonic Plague, nicknamed the black death, was the deadliest pandemic recorded in human history. Taking place between 1346 - 1353, it resulted in the deaths of between 75 million and 200 million people in Eurasia and Africa

---

1346 – 1353: From the Swiss manuscript the Toggenburg Bible, 1411. The plague never really went away, and when it returned 800 years later, it killed with reckless abandon. The Black Death, which hit Europe in 1347, claimed an astonishing 200 million lives in just four years.