Is peanut a nut?

The peanut is not a nut. The peanut is an annual herbaceous plant growing 30 to 50 cm (12 to 20 in) tall. As a legume, it belongs to the botanical family Fabaceae, also known as Leguminosae, and commonly known as the legume, bean, or pea family.