Which u. s. city banned christmas in sixteen fifty nine?

The Puritans of New England followed the lead of those in old England, and in 1659 the General Court of the Massachusetts Bay Colony made it a criminal offense to publicly celebrate the holiday and that “whosoever shall be found observing any such day as Christmas” was subject to a 5-shilling fine.

---

In 1659, the Massachusetts Bay Colony (in the area of where Boston is today) passed a series of laws making any observance of Christmas illegal, and punishing offenders with a five shilling fine (which would be equivalent to $8,000 today).