Why does the sky turn green?

A green sky generally happens with thunderstorm clouds present. Those kinds of storms may produce hail and tornadoes. Green does indicate that the cloud is extremely tall, and since thunderclouds are the tallest clouds, green is a warning sign that large hail or a tornado may be present.