How long does it take to hike to the bottom of the grand canyon?

Distance-wise, it's about 9.5 miles (15.5 km) each way but with an elevation change of over 4,300 ft (1300+ m) and it's really that elevation change that makes it a tough hike. The hike down generally takes 3-5 hours while the hike up, after a good overnight rest, will typically take 5-9 hours.