What is an apple?

An apple is a sweet, edible fruit produced by an apple tree (Malus domestica). Apple trees are cultivated worldwide and are the most widely grown species in the genus Malus. ... Apples have been grown for thousands of years in Asia and Europe and were brought to North America by European colonists.