What is the james charles controversy?

Chief amongst all of the drama is typically James Charles, whose brief stint at the top of YouTube came crashing down in 2021 after a series of allegations of James texting minors were confirmed by him. Again. YouTube demonetised him, Morphe dropped him – and rightfully so.