Who is the author of little abner?

The comic strip Li'l Abner was created in 1934 by Alfred Gerald Caplin, known as Al Capp, an American cartoonist & satirical humorist. In 1940 the 1st Li'l Abner film was made by RKO. The Li'l Abner Broadway musical opened in 1956. That stage production was adapted into a movie at Paramount in 1959.