What is the crystal fluorite good for?

Fluorite is mostly used to produce hydrogen fluoride, also called fluorspar. It's used in the production of steel, aluminum, and certain kinds of glass. Fluorite crystal is also used in optics, to make special lenses sensitive to ultraviolet light.