Are yams and sweet potatoes the same thing?

While both are underground tuber vegetables, they are actually very different. Sweet potatoes are a starchy root vegetable and are usually sweeter and moister than regular potatoes. True yams are a starchier and drier than sweet potatoes and rarely found in local grocery stores.

---

While both are underground tuber vegetables, they are actually very different. Sweet potatoes are a starchy root vegetable and are usually sweeter and moister than regular potatoes. True yams are a starchier and drier than sweet potatoes and rarely found in local grocery stores.