What is the difference between a pinch and a dash?

Traditionally, a “pinch” simply meant the amount you could literally pinch between your forefinger and thumb, somewhere between 1/16 and 1/8 of a teaspoon. A dash is a liquid measurement that translates to 1/8 of a teaspoon, although you will also hear, a dash of salt - still ⅛ teaspoon.