What is the only u. s. city founded by a woman?

City of Miami. Interestingly, the city of Miami was founded by a woman—the only female founder of a major American city. In 1874, Julia Tuttle, who hailed from Cleveland, headed to Florida to visit her father, who lived in the area. Despite the mosquito-infested swamps, she liked what she saw.