What does the extra flour in high altitude recipes do?

There are many things that you need to do at altitudes above 3500 feet. Add 1 tablespoon of flour at 3500 feet. Add an additional tablespoon for each additional 1500 feet. Adding flour helps to steady the rise of your baked goods and add structure to them as they grow in the oven for a longer time.