What direction should a fan turn in the winter time?

In winter, a ceiling fan should blow upwards towards the ceiling. This draws cooler air from below and forces the warmer air near the ceiling downwards. It is also less intrusive for the occupants in the room as the breeze the fan makes gets buffeted by the ceiling.