How is a platypus a mammal?

Animals are in two major groups. Those that deliver live births are called mammals. Animals born from laid eggs are not mammals. A Platypus, despite its unusual configuration gives birth to live young. A Platypus is similar to a beaver, an otter and a seal in they spend most of their lives in water.