Why is the quarterback called a quarterback?

The quarterback in this context was often called, the blocking back, as their duties usually involved blocking after the initial handoff. The "fullback" was the furthest back, behind the line of scrimmage. Hence, he was called a "quarter-back" by Walter Camp and the name stuck.