What does rfd stand for in mayberry r. f. d.?

The R.F.D. in Mayberry R.F.D. stands for Rural Free Delivery. Rural Free Delivery service begun in the United States in 1896 to deliver mail directly to farm families. Before RFD, rural inhabitants had to pick up mail themselves at sometimes distant post offices.