Why is the earth day?

Every year on April 22, Earth Day marks the anniversary of the birth of the modern environmental movement in 1970. Its founder Gaylord Nelson came up with the idea for a national day to focus on the environment after witnessing the ravages of a massive oil spill in Santa Barbara, California in 1969.