Tell me a scientific discovery?

In 1752, Benjamin Franklin did an experiment. To show that lightning was electricity, he flew a kite during a thunderstorm. He tied a metal key to the kite string to conduct the electricity. Electricity from the clouds transferred to the kite & electricity flowed down the string & gave him a shock.