What are tarrant cards?

Tarot cards are a type of cards originally developed in Europe during the mid-15th century for an interrelated group of games similar to Bridge. They are sometimes used as a fortune-telling gimmick, though that didn't start until the late 19th century and is done mostly in the United States.