Who wrote the song i was made for you?

You Were Meant for Me" is a song written by Steve Poltz and American singer-songwriter Jewel and performed by Jewel on her first album, Pieces of You (1995). It relates the singer's incomprehension of a failed relationship and her inadequate attempts at moving on with her life.